For most of us, moving our clocks forward from 2:00 a.m. to 3:00 a.m. for daylight savings time means crankiness due to an hour less of sleep. But for nonexempt overnight workers, it means one less hour of work, and thus one less hour’s worth of much-needed pay.
The switch to daylight savings means that an employee whose shift runs from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. will be entitled to only seven hours of pay instead of their usual eight hours of pay for the shift.
These workers may also lose out on overtime pay if that lost hour means the difference between falling under or over the 40-hour per week or 8-hour per day threshold. Employers won’t have to include that hour when they calculate an employee’s hours for the day or week.
Of course, some employers will choose not to dock pay for the lost hour. Maybe the extra leap day will make them feel generous.
For a guide to the myriad issues relating to wage and hour law, including calculating overtime pay, turn to CEB’s California Wage and Hour Law and Litigation.
© The Regents of the University of California, 2012. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited.